VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland University of Helsinki University of Turku  


The Academy of Finland has appointed six new Academy Professors. The appointees are: Academy Professor Lauri Aaltonen, University of Helsinki (clinical medicine), Professor Hannu Oja, University of Tampere (statistics), Professor Anssi Paasi, University of Oulu (geography), Professor Kari Palonen, University of Jyväskylä (political science), Professor Kari Rissanen, University of Jyväskylä (organic chemistry) and Professor Jussi Taipale, National Public Health Institute (cell and molecular biology).

The five-year term of the appointed Academy Professors starts on 1 January 2008. There are in all 40 Academy Professorships. The Academy Board appoints to an Academy Professorship a person who has demonstrated skills and competencies in research and can be regarded as contributing to the progress of research within his/her field of research. The posts are intended for top-level researchers for fixed-term research work. Academy Professors carry out their own research plan; they also supervise the research of their research team in their university or research institute, and provide guidance to junior researchers.

Lauri Aaltonen

Lauri A. Aaltonen's group works on tumor genomics, with a particular focus on hereditary susceptibility. The group has made key contributions in identification of several human tumor predisposition genes, such as LKB1 and SMAD4 in intestinal neoplasia, FH in leiomyomatosis and renal cell cancer, and AIP in pituitary adenoma predisposition. The work provides tools for early detection and prevention of hereditary tumors, and increases our understanding on mechanisms of sporadic tumorigenesis. The Group's current research program utilizes extensively the Finnish population and Cancer Registry databases to identify and characterize novel cancer predisposition phenotypes and genes.

Jussi Taipale




Webmaster: Tommi Pisto

© Translational Genome-Scale Biology, 2006